vsja

Liturgical Year Resources

faith filled days

paper dali

catholic cuisine

catholic icing


Tag Cloud:

Archives

Tiber River review: Truth & Life Dramatized Audio Bible

Truth & Life Dramatized Audio Bible
Falcon Picture Group, L.L.C. ©2010
ISBN 978-1-59171-325-8

 

Audio Bibles are nothing new, but the Truth & Life Dramatized Audio Bible is something special. Truth & Life includes a foreword by Pope Benedict XVI and bears the imprimatur of the Archbishop of New York. This 18-CD set is 22 hours long and features over 70 actors. Celebrity voices include Sean Astin, Neil McDonough,  Julia Ormand, Kristen Bell, Michael York, Malcolm McDowell, Stacy Keach, and John Rhy-Davies to name a few.

The well-chosen cast in this performance of the Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition are not simply reading, they are acting. Raymond Arroyo, bestselling author and journalist, and one of four producers of Truth & Life, sums it up perfectly:

It’s the delivery . . . Reading or listening to Scripture being read is often a confusing, dull experience. . . . But performed like this, you are thrown into the middle of the action. The Bible is suddenly not only understandable, but arresting and compelling.

The presentation is very similar to a radio drama, complete with original music and realistic and subtle sound effects that draw the listener into the scene. It is easy to follow and easy to understand exactly who is saying what.

The manner in which the text of the Holy Scriptures is performed very much assists the listener in understanding more fully the meaning of the divinely inspired words within their context.

– Cardinal Raymond Burke, prefect of the Apostolic Signatura

For a busy, on-the-run culture, Truth & Life Dramatized Audio Bible breathes new life into the audio bible genre. In our technological age, there is now no excuse. The Word of God is completely accessible, anytime, anywhere. Pop in a cd at home or on the road. Before a recent flight, I loaded Matthew onto my ipod. This was a wonderful travel companion. Chapter lengths range from four to twelve minutes so it it easy to stop the audio and pick it up again later.

As a homeschooling mom, I look forward to listening to Truth & Life with my family. This outstanding audio collection makes a wonderful addition to any Catholic library.

tiber river reviewer

You can purchase this audio collection here.

I wrote this review of Truth & Life Dramatized Audio Bible for the Tiber River Blogger Review program, created by Aquinas and More Catholic Goods. For more information and to purchase, please visit Aquinas and More Catholic Goods.

Tiber River is the first Catholic book review site, started in 2000 to help you make informed decisions about Catholic book purchases.

I receive free product samples as compensation for writing reviews for Tiber River.

Tiber River review: 2011 Saints Calendar & Daily Planner

2011 Saints Calendar & Planner
TAN Books ©2010
ISBN 978-0-89555-265-5

I anxiously awaited my review copy of TAN Book’s 2011 Saints Calendar & Daily Planner, and I have not been disappointed! This spiral-bound 16-month datebook-style planner has everything you need to keep organized and keep the faith.

The simple, yet elegant design of the planner is very appealing. A sturdy four-color cover features Anthony van Dycks’s Saint Ambrose forbids emperor Theodosius I to enter the church. Inside, there is a month-at-a-glance view for each month from September 2010 to December 2011. Each week is presented neatly on a two-page spread with a beautiful vintage, black and white illustration and biography of a saint from that week. Even the devotions for each month are listed.

The inside front cover offers three prayers to get you through any day: The Angelus, The Regina Caeli, and the 3 O’clock Hour of Great Mercy Prayer. A six-page index lists all the Saints’ days and moveable feasts, both new and traditional. These Saints’ days and feasts appear on the actual days in the planner’s weekly view. You will also find four-pages of patron saints. Other goodies that you will have at your fingertips throughout the year are the 33 Doctors of the Church; the 14 Holy Helpers; Holy Days for both 2011 and 2012; fasting and abstinence days; and even Catholic ID cards.

Near the back of the book are year-at-a-glance pages for the entire 16-month span of the planner. These pages are great for long term plans, academic or otherwise. A few lined pages for notes complete the package.

This planner is perfect for moms, students, or anyone who desires to incorporate the rich liturgical year of the Catholic Church into their daily lives.

tiber river reviewer

You can purchase this calendar here.

I wrote this review of 2011 Saints Calendar and Academic Planner for the Tiber River Blogger Review program, created by Aquinas and More Catholic Goods, your source for Oplatki and Advent Calendars. For more information and to purchase, please visit Aquinas and More Catholic Goods.

Tiber River is the first Catholic book review site, started in 2000 to help you make informed decisions about Catholic book purchases.

I receive free product samples as compensation for writing reviews for Tiber River.

Tiber River review: Blessed be God

blessed be god

Blessed be God
by Rev. Charles J. Callan, O.P., S.T.M. and Rev. John A. McHugh, O.P., S.T.M.
Preserving Christian Publications ©2010
ISBN 978-0-9802-84-8-1

This 2010 Blessed be God is an exact replica of the 1960 edition. It contains 748 pages of essential Catholic prayers and more in an exquisite pocket- or purse-size package. It is the most comprehensive collection of traditional Catholic prayers you will ever find.

This little book includes regular and special prayers; popular devotions; favorite novenas; meditations and readings for the Holy Bible and The Imitation of Christ; and epistles and gospels for Sundays and Holy Days. There is even a lovely collection of prayers and meditations for making a Holy Hour.

Catholics who attend the Tridentine Rite, Traditional Latin Mass will appreciate the Mass, taken from the traditional 1962 Missale Romanum, presented in double columns in both English and Latin. The Table of Moveable Feasts has been updated through 2041 and St. Joseph’s name has been included in the Roman Canon.

blessed be godBeautifully detailed vintage lithographs illustrate the inner pages of this leatherbound edition. The brand new reprint also features gilded page edges and a ribbon page marker sewn into the binding.

The beauty of the exterior of this powerful prayerbook can not come close to the beauty found on the pages within. This complete collection of timeless prayers and devotions is something every Catholic should hold dear. Blessed be God, forever!

tiber river reviewer

I wrote this review of Blessed be God for the Tiber River Blogger Review program, created by Aquinas and More Catholic Goods, the largest Catholic store online. For more information and to purchase, please visit Aquinas and More Catholic Goods.

Tiber River is the first Catholic book review site, started in 2000 to help you make informed decisions about Catholic book purchases.

I receive free product samples as compensation for writing reviews for Tiber River.

Tiber River review: The Handbook for Catholic Moms

handbook for Catholic Moms

The Handbook for Catholic Moms
by Lisa M. Hendey
Ave Maria Press ©2010
ISBN-10 1-59471-228-X
ISBN-13 978-1-59471-228-9

Catholic Moms — what a diverse group we are! In The Catholic Handbook for Moms, Lisa Hendey has done a great job of presenting something for just about every one of us. I’m not a fan of “pull the heartstrings,” overly emotional women’s reading material. If that’s what you are looking for, then The Handbook for Catholic Moms is not the book for you.

Hendey’s handbook is organized into four categories: heart, head, body, and soul. She presents real life situations, humorous antidotes, encouraging words, and prayerful solutions for those of us who are simply trying to be good moms. Each chapter includes a “mom’s homework” section and a listing of helpful online resources.

Hendey begins by focusing on the heart of a mom and how we can better nurture and develop relationships with our family, our friends, and our selves. Next, she turns to our minds. We must acknowledge that our vocation involves teaching, learning, working, being creative, and recognizing our special God-given gifts. In the body section, Hendey addresses the importance of caring for ourselves by reducing stress, getting enough sleep, keeping fit, and up-to-date on medical checkups.

Lastly, and most importantly if we are to call ourselves “Catholic” moms, Hendey turns us inward to our souls. Hendey has invited us on a journey: ” . . . a journey of love — loving and caring for ourselves more so that we can better love and care for our families, our neighbors, our Church, and the world it is sent to serve.” The Handbook for Catholic Moms is our road map.

tiber river reviewer

I wrote this review of The Handbook for Catholic Moms for the Tiber River Blogger Review program, created by Aquinas and More Catholic Goods, the largest Cathlic store online. For more information and to purchase, please visit Aquinas and More Catholic Goods.

Tiber River is the first Catholic book review site, started in 2000 to help you make informed decisions about Catholic book purchases.

I receive free product samples as compensation for writing reviews for Tiber River.

Tiber River review: Catholic Saints Prayer Book

saints prayer book

Catholic Saints Prayer Book
by Donna-Marie Cooper O’Boyle
Our Sunday Visitor ©2008
ISBN: 978-1-59276-285-9

The saints are here to inspire, guide, and pray for us. They started out as ordinary people, just like us. But they chose to be saintly. This choice was not an easy one for any of them and the temptations of this world were not always easy to overcome. Who then will better understand our plight as we strive toward holiness?

Donna-Marie Cooper O’Boyle has put together a beautiful little book. Perfect for purse, pocket or backpack. Each saint entry includes an inspirational peak into the life of the saint, their feast day, a relevant quote, an illustration of that saint, and a brief meditational prayer. The only thing I would have liked to see in this book is an index listing the saints by their feast day.

Saints include: St. Anne, St. Anthony of Padua, St. Augustine, St. Benedict, St. Bernadette, St. Bridget of Ireland, St. Catherine Laboure, St. Catherine of Siena, St. Clare of Assisi, St. Dominic, St. Elizabeth Ann Seton, St. Faustine Kowalska, St. Francis of Assisi, St. Francis Xavier, St. Ignatius of Loyola, St. John Chrysostom, St. John Neumann, St. Joseph, St. Jude Thaddeus, St. Margaret Mary Alacoque, St. Marguerite Bourgeoys, St. Maria Goretti, St. Maximilian Kolbe, St. Michael the Archangel, St. Monica, St. Padre Pio, St. Patrick, St. Peregrine, St. Rita of Cascia, St. Teresa of Avila, St. Therese of Lisieux, and St. Thomas More.

Let us invoke the saints often, asking for their holy assistance, even praying along with them, striving to imitate their virtues while praying to become saints ourselves.

This little book will help you do just that.

You can purchase this book here.

tiber river reviewer

This review was written as part of the Tiber River Blog Reviewer program.

Tiber River review -- Angels of God

angels of god

Angels of God
The Bible, The Church and the Heavelnly Hosts

by Mike Aquilina
Sevant Books ©2009
ISBN 978-0-86716-898-3

I was somewhat hesitant to read a book on angels. If you, like me, are not fond of the plump, fairy-like cherubs so often seen in today’s culture, Angels of God, The Bible, the Church, and the Heavenly Hosts will not disappoint you. Mike Aquilina presents the angels, majestic and powerful, in all their fiery eye, sword yielding glory.

“When we read the Bible with our eyes open for angels, we notice that they are not ornaments on the picture frame or convenient plot devices. They’re in the foreground and the background. They play starring roles, center stage.”

“Angels are everywhere.” Aquilina backs up this statement using scripture, church teaching, and the writings of saints. These heavenly beings “play crucial roles in the drama of our creation, fall and salvation.” And they still do, even in the drama of our very own daily lives.

Angels of God covers where angles are, what they are, different kinds of angels, particular angels, and how we can benefit from their heavenly company.

Aquilina states, “We walk in the company of angels. We hope to live in their company forever.” Just knowing they are there should make us think about the things we do or say. They are there to help, guide, and protect us. All we need to do is ask for their assistance.

This book offers amazing insight into the presence of the angels and contains everything you need to help you feel closer to these heavenly hosts. There is even a section of prayers, poems, and songs. We should remember to call on the angels, keep them in our minds and in our hearts. Angels of God, The Bible, the Church, and the Heavenly Hosts will help you do just that.

tiber river reviewer

I wrote this review of Angels of God for the Tiber River Blogger Review program, created by Aquinas and More Catholic Goods. For more information and to purchase, please visit Aquinas and More Catholic Goods.